Skip to content

The Joy of Children’s Books

August 9, 2013

While getting to grips with the various settings on this site I discovered the goodreads widget (a word I have never used before let me point out). Having looked at the site, and being a keen reader, I decided to sign up and see what recommendations they could offer me. Of course in order to get recommendations I first needed to rate books that I have previously read.

Going through the categories I was amused to find that I couldn’t bring myself to move on from the children’s section. Oh I spent a fair amount of time in classics, historical fiction etc. but nevertheless the children’s books had me on a trip down memory lane which I found it hard to escape from.

When asked what my favourite book is, I’m likely to respond with something very grownup such as Persuasion by Jane Austen, or Atonement by Ian McEwan, but after browsing through my past reads I may have to re-evaluate. Can any book beat the childlike delight stirred by Green Eggs and Ham? Or by Mog, a cat with whom I spent many a joyful hour in my childhood. I defy anyone not to see the cover of a long forgotten favourite such as Ruby by Maggie Glen and not immediately want to drop everything in order to reread it.

Maybe it’s the nostalgia talking, but I have the sudden desire to find my old copy of The Very Hungry Caterpillar…

Wish me luck in my search,

Scarlett x

From → Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

